So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

The Asylum Seeker

Leave a comment

On our way to church on Easter Sunday, we passed what looked like one of our local Asylum seekers walking in the direction of Ramingstein from Tamsweg. We thought he looked a bit odd with his hood pulled over his head, most of them use the bike path in the valley. Maybe he was on his way to see his friends and he was new here. But walking along that road is dangerous. Later that day we saw him again when we were doing Meals on Wheels, still on the main road and well past Ramingstein.

Dave what do we do? We both felt there was something wrong and we felt driven to do something. So when we had finished we drove in the same direction. If he was visiting someone we wouldn’t find him. But we saw him in the distance. We overtook him and turned around and stopped. He looked like he was ín his twenties I guess and dark skinned, his lips were dry and cracked. I asked internationally OK? He nodded. I asked where are you going in both languages. Slovenia. I couldn’t believe it. I signed food, and drink pointing at my mouth and said money.

Another car stopped and asked if all was ok, we explained and to the nearby farmer who drove all of fifty yards to ask!

Dave brought my bag over and gave him one of the boiled, coloured Easter eggs in my bag.  I couldn’t feel the others. So I then gave him some money. He tapped his heart as I have seen these guys do, I didn’t have anything to give him to drink. He went on.

I spent the afternoon beating myself up for not giving him more money and eggs. Should we have taken him to the railway station at Unzmarkt? Or to a restaurant? Or called a friend further down the road? Or maybe he was fleeing a crime?

I don’t like the Asylum seekers, these young men who leave their families to face the war, they’re migrants. So why did her stir Dave and I so much? Where is he now?

Leave a Reply

