So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

So how was your Lent?

Leave a comment

I can remember the time I stopped eating butter and margarine for Lent, and it surprised me just how difficult it made life! As I’ve said, this Lent I read Andrew Wommack’s new book, Living in God’s best.  I read it twice and for people seeking healing and changes in their lives, it is a really powerful book. Yes, you are made to face up to the fact that we’re the weak factor, not God. But he has all these permanent blessings for us to live in, health, happiness, peace, financial security, and more. It’s turned my Christian thinking upside down. Its manifested in the healing of our dog and our finances. And I’ve even got Dave to read it too.

I looked at the parable of the Prodigal Son too, as for so long I had felt the second son had a just cause. I read lots of explanations, which put him as the Sadducee, who  Jesus was really knocking at that time. But that didn’t balance with the other guy being Jesus.  That wasn’t the point. It’s God’s unconditional love for us, the lost and found. Still didn’t quite get it. It was only when I saw the language unpicked, that I could see what a bad relationship the second son had with his Dad. He did already have all his inheritance, and his Dad went after him to get him to join in. There are different words used but build the same meaning in all versions. The second son hadn’t lived in a good relationship with his Dad, he had served or slaved for him. He had never got a goat to feast on with his friends, not the family, excluding the family. I suddenly had the picture of the son, who for what ever reason had taken against his family and was an angry, self pitying twit. It wasn’t that he was  wasn’t a loved member of the family, he was a pain in the neck. And while I once identified with him for feeling left out, I no longer do. In my childhood, I was on the outside of my family at times while within it, especially when my brothers where around. I now get it that I did have self pity, maybe it had a cause or not, but no longer do I identify with the Prodigal son’s bro!

Leave a Reply

