So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

I did it!

Leave a comment

img_3466-2

The first week back at work is always exhausting, but at least this time I was prepared for it. I knew about the chaos and the excitement. What I hadn’t reckoned on was Swingle’s stomach. She’s been going out more regularly in the night for a few months, I reckon her last wormer was too strong. But she went into overdrive my first week. I can do most things, but sleep deprivation is my achilles heel, and as I get older I need my sleep more undisturbed  than before. It didn’t help that on the nights she was ok, I woke enough to be semi conscious and not be able to go off again for a couple of hours.

I also had library duties on Monday after my long day until 1p.m, and an extra evening course that I hadn’t reckoned on, on Thursdays. Luckily, a couple of days Swingle was at Bella’s so she was so knackered I didn’t need to walk her. But I still needed to get out in the fresh air and move on the other days, nothing more tiring than being indoors in a classroom!

The evening course has turned into a joy as the daughter of the people I used to work for in Rennweg is on the course, they had bought the Haflingers I worked with in 2008, and we’d lost contact, so that’s great.

My Business English in some ways is a disaster, last year I had 90% of my group at intermediate level and they really could have done with business English. This year, no assessment day, and it was obvious from the start, two were beginners. I blame the Job Centre for not giving them the right information. So two moved to the other course, then  one didn’t turn up and was replaced, then one woman, the day after I had worked with her, not allowing her to hide in the corner, ran away, claiming its all too difficult.

The guy I’m working with is very laid back, and really easy to work with. I’m looking forward to the next few weeks, with a consolidated group, the book we’re using is a bit thin for this course but there’s so many things to work on, I’m really happy!

And Swingle’s stomach?  The vet gave me new food, didn’t work, changed to digestive dry food, didn’t work, so we’ve now put her onto evening feeds, hopefully that will sort the bugger’s body clock out.

But most of all, I’ve realised, despite the lack of sleep, the extra work, the adjustment, I’ve got the energy, I can do it all and do it well, I DID IT!

Leave a Reply

