So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Death by Elderberry!

Leave a comment

p1320385

Jenny came to help with this years wine bottling, and while I was squishing the next batch of elderberry this happened!

img_3326

I also managed to spill it down myself and we had to stop Swingle slurping the floor! And despite me cleaning thoroughly, Dave came home later and straightaway found all the sticky bits I’d missed!

p1320387

So the wine has come out surprisingly dry this year. The Gooseberry is delightfully pink as hoped. The first batch was the driest, and that which I added extra sugar to, only marginally sweeter. The blackcurrant isn’t so sweet either. I can only surmise that its due to the wet summer which means less sugar, but I did pick after a few hot days.

img_3328

Maybe I do need to change my method and have the fruit must and sugar and the yeast in a bucket for  few days rather than adding the sugar to the sieved must. Note to self for next year!

img_3327

Maybe the elderberry will be the same. My trees are a disappointment again, so one will be chopped down to start again and the other pruned. On my dog walks I spotted several laden trees, so I stole my elderberries from behind the factory, some were hanging like bunches of grapes.

img_3328

So after Christmas, when we get back from the UK, Jenny has said I should have a party to take my mind off things ie the missing the kids blues, sounds a cracking idea to me!!!
p1320382


Leave a Reply

