So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Alone

Leave a comment

P1260134

It’s really strange, after two years of Dave being at home, to be on my own again. When he first left his last job, I had such trouble adapting, I just wanted my own space. We have bickered and grumbled and got to know each other even better, realising we can work together although not always in the same room!

Admittedly having the dog has given us a common interest, and people will say, Oh its just covering over the cracks, but I say not. After 33 years, we have had major issues, and some will never go away, some never be said and never resolved and they can stay so. We needed to take our eyes from ourselves. Yes. I know, middle aged baby substitute, but in having the dog, our focus is no longer on self and getting irritated in the daily, but getting out, doing stuff and actually having something to discuss that is new. All good.

And me – I’m going back into the doggy world, thanks to Barbara who owns Shira I’ve met more lovely doggy people and the world is expanding. But I do like this quietness to write (when the dog isn’t rushing out in the garden for a bark, me following making as much noise to shut her up!), she’s worse than a two year old! I’m not going to let this aloneness become an addiction like last time, I will keep a balance!

Leave a Reply

