So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Creativity

Leave a comment

DSCN1866 (2)

One of Rosemary’s pictures

I’ve been wanting to paint, ever since we came here. It was part of the dream to have a place to write and be creative, and this blog is the evidence of the writing. I’ve been struggling with the painting, getting frustrated with technique and a sense of not getting it. So I stopped.

Recently, I made contact with Rosemary who is an Art teacher and artist in the village and I took my sketch books around to show her. At last, she’s put me straight. If I want to create an landscape in exacting likeness, just keep on with the photos. No picture will ever be so accurate. Why copy it?I need to capture the growth and feeling. Nothing will come out exactly like I see it in my head. Make little tries and sketches and not be overawed with big sheets of paper.

My painting will be the freedom of my subconscious, no more copy photos, only trying to plant an image from my head. Enough to start on. Its a control thing too- I’ll just need to let things flow, quite a trick for a control person like me.

My life is filling up!  Thanks God!

Leave a Reply

