So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

The Cherbourg to Poole Ferry

Leave a comment

DSCN3070

As I said in my last post, the wind was rising as we reached Cherbourg and we worried that the ferry would be cancelled. Fortunately not! We did all the controls and drove on, parked and made our way upstairs to the salon. We had a much needed cup of coffee and found a comfy chair. But then, being restless after so much sitting we went outside as we left port- hence the bad photo, wrong setting again! Once out of the protective wall we began to pitch and toss. Dave had taken his travel pills and so was ok. So we sat and people watched, glad we couldn’t see the waves outside!

One couple caught our eye as they were both guzzling wine from half drunk bottles they got from the car. We both hoped someone else was driving, but we saw them again  when we were going home, they must have been ok. It struck me that we were part of the ex-pat migration going home for Christmas. I could visualise people leaking our from all over Europe in both directions!

Four weary hours later we docked and I drove off in the lefthand drive Panda on the left hand side of the road. It wasn’t that bad, I’d been preparing myself for weeks. I’d been really annoyed to find ANOTHER yellow panda in the boat but it was French – ok I also nearly put my key in it too!

The trouble was that Dave had adjusted the headlights down a bit so they wouldn’t dazzle and I could hardly see where I was going as I drove! Many blunders later we ended up on a familiar road and soon parking at the garage’s near our son’s house. Text arrives, are you off the boat yet?  Look outside.

Leave a Reply

