So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Ice Skittles

Leave a comment

DSC06598

Having missed all the outings last year with the Trachten Frauen (Traditional costume Ladies), I’ve paid my subs and will be donning my dirndl again in June!  One of the group get togethers is the annual ‘Icestockschießen’ or Ice skittles. We found our Stock in the cellar, its made of wood – well look at the picture!  You have to skim this down a lane of ice with the idea of getting it closest to the puck, or if the other team is too close, knocking them out the way. By sheer fluke I won one run!  It’s very easy to not stoop low enough and then let go too late and send the stock caterpaulting down the Bahn. I wasn’t the only one. I was so pleased to find I could wear my ice nails on my boots, I really don’t like slipping on ice! Afterwards, we all trooped in and had a meal of Specknodel (Bacon noodle) and music and prizegiving. The winning team ate for free and the losers paid! Great fun and all were so friendly, though even after seven years, I still get asked why on earth are you here! Since then, now that the snow has arrived Dave and I have been practising in our carpark, no more caterpaulting for me!

Leave a Reply

