So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Where are the birds?

Leave a comment

P1250032

As I write on January 17th, we have no fresh snow here and it’s actually raining. Nuts. Earlier in the winter all looked quite promising as I had Jays visiting the table and the Nutcrackers ever popped in for the odd visit. Since Christmas, the birds have gone. I have the resident group of Field Sparrows and Great Tits. An occasional Blackbird,Robin and Blue Tit, but no one else. If anything its saving me on the bird food. The only thing I can think of, they’ve stayed on the greener slopes higher up as they can access all the ground stuff. Maybe they’ll be back when we get some snow. No one I’ve spoke to can remember it being like this. Maybe its the knock on from the USA weather.  I have seen a group of Fieldfares in the valley, feasting on the huge crop of Vogelberries  (Mountain ash berries), which I’ve never seen before here  but they to have gone.

Anyone else seen anything odd?

Leave a Reply

