So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

My other Blog

Leave a comment

Dear Reader!

I’ve just realised that many do not know that I run a eBook review blog as well.  I take mainly from the free book lists, hopefully to give reviews that’ll help new authors, and to give my own personal opinions.  So here is a re-blog of a post that was popular , maybe you will like to drop by!!!

https://booksandanna.wordpress.com

The Cornish Affair

I don’t usually go for foody books, so I must admit I skipped a little on the bits when Fin goes into her thoughts on cooking, but this book was a bit different anyway.  The plot device of the storm coming in and wrecking things, could not be predicted and was a great jolt.  The closeness of the Cornish community came over so well, I guess she lives in such a community as this part of her writing shines out, it almost takes over from the main narrative. Oliver is a little one dimensional for me, but the great gang of eccentrics compensate for this. The ending felt a little hurried for me, but I really enjoyed this, it got to the I don’t want to put it down category. I’ll be reading more of her books.

But what I DO hate, even though it was paged up on the contents (does anyone read  a contents page any more?) is thinking I still have 10% left only to find it’s taken up with a sample from someone else’s book,  arrrrrrrghhhhhhhh!

Leave a Reply

