So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Luke 5, verses 1 – 11

Leave a comment

P1230804

Sometimes a reading jumps out at you and the Spirit suddenly gives you an insight into a previously unremarkable passage.  He’s trying to tell us something as God‘s word is spirit. ( John 6,6)  This is one I received lately and I think it speaks to us about re-commitment. I think that God has given me the go-ahead to write a series of blogs about Bible passages that have really spoken to me, so there will now be a regular occurance!

At the time I was wondering why this was sticking so much in my mind, nothing was jumping out of the page at me but  I did re –read that this was also a re-commitment, after the original call from Jesus, the fishermen had gone back to their trade.  (Mat 4, 18 -22, Mark 1, 16 -20 ).

Then this Sunday, Mr Wishywashy (Joel Osteen) preached on the same verses.  He said that when our faith is weak and we are doubting, then God’s faith steps in, and so the fishermen were blessed with the huge catch. A set time of blessing he said. Of course I felt he’d oversimplified.  If you read it, Peter’s unbelief is countered with a little belief, ie we haven’t caught anything  but if you say so, I will. This little step produced what was for the fishermen untold riches.

Peter confessed his sin and recommitted and WALKED AWAY from the riches.  That’s a hard one.  He was so impressed he could but not believe and his belief surpassed the proof in his eyes, wow!  Still I like the idea of the blessing that is to come, and re-commitment for us to living and working here but  I don’t know if I could walk from riches away unless Jesus told me to personally!

From the New International version, Luke 5

    1 One day as Jesus was standing by the Lake of Gennesaret, the people were crowding around him and listening to the word of God. 2 He saw at the water’s edge two boats, left there by the fishermen, who were washing their nets. 3 He got into one of the boats, the one belonging to Simon, and asked him to put out a little from shore. Then he sat down and taught the people from the boat.

   4 When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch.”

   5 Simon answered, “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.”

   6 When they had done so, they caught such a large number of fish that their nets began to break.7 So they signaled their partners in the other boat to come and help them, and they came and filled both boats so full that they began to sink.

   8 When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at Jesus’ knees and said, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!” 9 For he and all his companions were astonished at the catch of fish they had taken, 10and so were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, Simon’s partners.

   Then Jesus said to Simon, “Don’t be afraid; from now on you will fish for people.” 11 So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.

http://www.biblica.com

Leave a Reply

