So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Taking Offfence

Leave a comment

Sitting in the church at MariaPfarr, I was admiring the altar and flowers as usual. The pictures of Mary’s life above it I look at just as pictures.  Then the new altar cloth caught my eye. ‘Ave Maria‘ in red cross stitch. Hmmmmm thinks I, my Protestant hackles rising a little, she was just another human being like us, yes one who was particularly good, but no  better.  To me there’s no Biblical basis for worshipping a person, and so on.

Then I thought, hey, I’m taking offence at this. Andrew Wommack and Joyce Meyer talk about this;

Philippians 1 v 10 That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ;

Acts 24 v 16 And herein do I exercise myself, to have always a conscience void of offence toward God, and [toward] men. (KJV)

We are so quick to offend, in England there is a culture of deliberately taking it, against what other people say and do, and using it to sue and defame.  How far are we wandering away from the life he would us have?

Leave a Reply

