So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me by Caroline James

Leave a comment

You can now click on the picture for more!

It was actually the title that caught me eye, as it sounded a bit different to the run of the mill and on a quick read thought the link to the horse fair would make it interesting.  I’m going to have to try so hard not to spoil it, but it was an un- putable downer for me and I loved it.

Set in the 1980s, the setting was so accurately described in that I could see the outfits that Jo was wearing and could see how the politics of the time had their effect on the narrative.  The year of this book I was busy having my daughter so this made the book a bit special too! My only reservation was that when she buys Kirkton house, we don’t hear much of the renovations, and that makes it seem to easy – maybe I watch Gand designs too much, but old buildings always have unexpected problems.  Jo’s set downs of her errant husband are so funny he’s well and truly stitched up himself by the end.  There are horses which of course is a bonus for me and the description of the trotting race reminded my of the time we saw Farnham -by pass being closed by a rolling road of cars as a pair raced down it on a Sunday morning. The only thing that didn’t work for me was John, he had so little depth and I couldn’t really see why Jo fell for him!

Caroline’s depictions of life in a busy hotel, a small village, the gypsy world, made this book different for me.  It’s almost as if she has post written, the pre heroine of so many heroines in romances today!

Leave a Reply

