So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Lenten fasting

Leave a comment

Ice!

We decided this year  to fast from meat this Lent, just as a trial.  I’d always been meant to eat less due to the cholesterol etc etc.  So we did, and it turned out to be a non issue, neither of us missed it!  It was only a problem when eating out!  Someone asked me if I was experimenting with lots of tasty veggie dishes – no I wasn’t!  I only enjoy cooking when entertaining,and I like to throw something in the oven, and fish it out half an hour later with no effort on my part!  I found myself buying Veggie dishes,  such as fingers and schnitzels, and pre-made rice dishes. The Spar even had a new range of meat substitutes  – yuck, they were disgusting!  as Dave pointed out, why do you give up meat and then try to have things that are just the same?

So fast over, I don’t think we’ll go back to as much meat again, but we do like it. Spiritually it was a non event, but I did read my Bible more and pray more.  Dave now says next year we should fast from tv,  me the internet, and my kindle – and he and the cheek to say he’d just then listen to the radio.  Tad unfair I think!

Leave a Reply

