So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Shame on you Burg Finstergruen!

Leave a comment

I may be shooting myself in the foot here, as I’ve just been in contact with the Burg peeps about offering our therapy to the guests – as team building for kids and family strengthening.    But I’m writing this any way.

Last year,  one of the cooks didn’t return and we found out she just didn’t get a letter of recall, just nothing, she was left high and dry with no idea. This year,  I’d already sacked myself , but when I was talking  found out they now have two full-time cleaners, who must also work in the other areas – my ears will be burning no doubt when they begin spring cleaning as Erna slags us off!  I should have asked about Michaela but  didn’t.

Yesterday I had a call from Michaela, to quote herself, burning in Gas mark 500, she’d not heard from the Burg in writing, though admittedly she hadn’t attended the Christmas meal when the return forms were dealt with.  So she’d rung and found she has no work.  She could have hung on for weeks waiting, so now she has to deal with the Job centre and find a new job. 

There is no doubt ample legal reasons for this being ok to do. But the management were quick enough to sack someone in person when the Naschkammer wasn’t making enough money last year. All it would have taken was a letter to say not needed, especially as the job is now full-time.

So shame on you management of Burg Finstergruen, run by the Protestant church, what a good witness.  I hope one of you reads this!

Leave a Reply

