So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

So where’s the snow…….gone?

Leave a comment

Bleurggghhhh!

I’m sat here, feeling exhausted and really stiff after my trek into Germany.  Since I’ve been away, there’s been a major thaw, I can’t believe that my garden which was under a good two feet of snow now is only half covered.  The first thing I noticed when I got out the car was the sound of the waterfall.  Muted by the ice and lack of water, it’s now roaring and brown as the water escapes the valley. 

http://tvthek.orf.at/programs/70019-Salzburg-heute/episodes/3667697-Salzburg-heute

 We made the news twice while I was away you can see thus clip above until Friday. The first night when the Firebrigade had to pump out properties in Tamsweg, including where Dave works, and lay sand bags. The snow was melting so fast but the ice was still blocking all the rivers and drains.  The next day, Madling made it too.  On the hill above us where in 2007 we had landslides, the earth was starting to wash down the hill which could lead to the same result, so again the Fireman were clearing the streams  down to the Thomotalerbach.  Now today its raining. I can hear the rain on our metal windowsills, which I love hearing when I’m warm and sat indoors!  Hopefully that means its snowing higher up, but there are avalanche warnings galore and someones been killed in one in Obertauern.

I’m really quite sad that it’s all disappearing so rapidly, I’ve really got into the snow this year!  Perhaps we’ve lost the snow  because its taken itself to other parts of the world instead – see articles!

Leave a Reply

