So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Dentists

Leave a comment

 

Langlaufing time!

I suppose my intense dislike for Dentists must have started in childhood with our one in Winchester.  He used to be quite rude about my teeth and once found a stray piece of cereal which I was expected to explain away.  Mum also used to quite often take us straight out and into the sweet shop next door!  I needed many filings,  I’ve found out due to poor enamel which I can can do nothing about.  I had to have root treatment when George was a baby and with no one to help had to sit him in a pushchair in the surgery, leaving him yelling at several stages while I was being treated.  Then when I came here, I needed more root treatment, when I suddenly had viscous pain  a couple of weeks after arriving. 

The Austrian Health system allows you to take responsibility for yourself, so no reminders are sent for check ups.  Hence I now only go when there’s a problem, which is also pretty stupid as I’ve just found out. I broke a filling out of a tooth and left it for months as there was no pain, not realising that this was one of the root treated ones, ans it was starting to rot and now I’ve even less  chewing ability than before!

So to the point, which is to talk about the system here.  Our Dentist (and this is common) works on his own and has three treatment rooms.  He then legs it between the three, for example while you are numbing up.  Which means no appointment is ever on time, and the receptionist has even told me to remember my book!  Is this better than the English system?  I don’t know.  It’s certainly more basic, he even hit my teeth with a metal prong to find out which one has the problem, although he does have an x-ray machine.  I don’t know which is better, except I’m still keeping to my non-attendance policy even if its stupid!

Leave a Reply

