So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

There’s snow reason for snow, or there’s snow people like snow people……

Leave a comment

Ok, the above title is a blatant attempt again to get the readership up as that word seems to pull in the readers.  I can find no logic in my viewing figures, sometimes its loads and then others despite new posts, no views, its nuts!  Any ideas anyone?

I’ve spent the last couple of weeks alternatively busy and then stuck at home.  We’ve had snow and then mild weather and even some rain. One evening it did both and next day the Hof and lane were like a skating rink.  Ice is something I really don’t like but have some nifty attachments for my shoes with studs in – it just needs me to remember to put them on!  I also struggle with the  idea of driving in the snow, but when I do it its ok.  Is this a sign of growing older?  I’m planning a series of blogs on age and my autobiography, which may be incredibly boring but I’ll  enjoy writing them.  Sometimes I look at my motive for writing this.  I’ve read, those with low self-esteem also have an over exaggerated sense of self-importance – but I thought I was over that, so why do I still like writing about myself and life?  Ido hope to witness about faith in this blog….maybe thats the most important!

All these shots are in Mariapfarr

I may have found a new job!  It’s again cleaning but in some ski-chalets near St Micheal.  Run by an Austro-English couple, I did my interview in English, what a joy and yet a retrograde step.  It’s on this geringfugig system, ie you can earn a bit and not lose your dole, and if the hours go up there’s a chance, she’ll employ me and its all year round. She was fascinated by the Therapy work and I’ll even get a whole season’s timetable so we can make appointments. The girls I worked with briefly were friendly, and there’s another horsey person on the staff.  I may even get to work with Micheala again as the boss is looking for some occasional workers!  So I guess this really is bye to the Burg, I’ll have to let them know as they’ll have to advertise.  The place haunts me,  despite all the stress it gave me. I’ll miss Helmuth and Micheala but not you know who! Edith wants me to help Lois out while his groom is away but being me, having havered to go back, am not keen as his groom, maybe it was all that shouting!  I’m renewing my EAGALA membership, late again, in excitement for next year.  We’ve done one session in the snow and it was ok, but the days are drawing in so I can’t see the after school ones lasting, but there is the holidays.  One of my girls who I’ve been teaching riding is taking a break to go skiing -she must be mad!

So Christmas approaches, I bought all my pressies – mostly on Amazon, have baked loads of mince pies as Sunday is my English Christmas tea party for the neighbours – I hope some turn up. Excitement is rising as Stef is coming, I’m so looking forward to it this year, although she can only come for four days. Paggy isn’t coming to the party – maybe because of his old feuds with the  neighbours. I was talking to him the other day and the cleaning lady he has accused of stealing came with his Meals on wheels. He was incredibly rude to her and chucked her out of the house.  I felt so sorry for her, whether its true or not – he’s always saying something has been stolen.  Neighbours – its getting more like the East End every day!

Leave a Reply

