So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Still no snow!

Leave a comment

The forecast says its coming tonight, and certainly the tops of the mountains which we can see  have their coating of icing sugar, so maybe the snow panic will be over this week. The only thing I really don’t like about the stuff is driving before the ploughs have been out and its rutted.  And of course as we’re newcomers to the game, we tend to drive more cautiously than the locals and they get so impatient.

I’m getting quite childishly excited over Christmas, we’ve got a small tree by the porch with white lights I’ve only seen one other in red here, and I’ve got the deccies ready for the tree but that really will wait a couple of weeks. The main thing I’m building towards is my planned party for the neighbours.  I’m inviting all the houses in our little hamlet and to this end have cooked several Christmas cakes and will have a mince pie making extravaganza next week.  The tradition here is biscuit baking but surely I’m allowed to cling a bit to my cultural traditions? My only problem is Paggy, we cannot not invite him but he has alienated himself from most of the people here by being obnoxious and difficult over the years and I’m afraid that because of him the others wont come.  We did think of having it on two days but as Dave may be on selling Christmas tree duties on Saturdays its not practical. I’m going to tell Paggy it will be an alcohol free zone (except in the cakes), maybe he wont stay long.  Oh I hate being in the middle, I seem to have been there all my life – between my mother and my Grandmother, Mum and my brothers, kids and father, I suppose I should be experienced! What would you do?????

Dave had some unexpected time off last week, and so we have a new project of insulating our wooden porch, polystyrene then laminate – which we found  was cheaper than wooden cladding and it looks good! I may have the chance of a job in St Martin, with an English family who run ski chalets, working as a cleaner again, I have to find something. Is it a backward step as it’s a bit in English although I’d be working with local people?

Leave a Reply

