So where's the snow?

Muddling through in Austria, God and life, teaching and gardening plus the occasional cow

Integration in Lungau- have we?

Leave a comment

[

Me being a scared Icelander on Rodi at the Burg Moosham riding festival, 2008

As I’ve blithered on ,we’ve been here four years, so are we now a part of the community?  I somehow expected Dave and I to change with our new life, but although we did loads of stuff when we first arrived, maybe we’re more back to where we were in England – a backsliding into laziness and we need to jerk oursleves out of it.  It was all exciting at first and people were surprised to meet new folks- they just couldn’t understand how we could possibly want to move here!

We know our neighbours Paggy and Linda quite well, but we’re not in each others hair.The others are polite, but not on the popping in for a cup of tea basis (or do I mean beer?).  The older couple across the way only had us in for coffee after we’d given them a lift home and the other has a slightly odd reputation for being nosey.  All the shrubs in our garden were planted to block their view of our window and he spent all day rubberknecking when we were moving in and the builders were here.  Poor man is ill now and although we’ve offered any help, they keep more to themselves.

Most of the real friends we’ve made are bilingual apart from Linda and Paggy!  We know more of the English incomers too and thats been a joy – just to have a girly natter in my own language is wonderful!  Its great to have supplies brought such as gravy powder, bread sauce and malt vinegar which you cant get here – although I’m using these less and less.

We know  a few folks through church and we went to the Bible group but have never really become close – probably becasue the majority were in theri 30s with families.Then  of course, I musn’t forget  my first horse friend, who took me to meet her horses.  It was just after we’d arrived and I was a bit sad for Monty* although I swore I’d given up horses! One came and just stood by me and blew into my hair, I closed my eyes and it was a moment of pure bliss. Horse therapy for me!

Are we still looking at the place with rosy tinteds?  I do read the local papers and know whats about, there’s a very low crime rate – down 33% last year, they must have nicked someone!  The evening news presenters don’t have the cult status as our previous South Today ones did, and sometimes they really struggle for news. Headlines have been about a telegraph pole falling down, is there enough wood and a new design of patio chair! Wonderful! But local gossip and bitching and backbiting we know very little.  Is it due to the language differences or simply the people we are?  All I know is,that in England, even in my own town I felt an outsider, now that I really am one, perhaps I’ve come home!

We do go to some concerts and ocassionally to the pub – but we’re not pub people, it doesnt sit easily.  Now we do get by quite easily- except for deeply spoken dialect, although Dave struggles a bit.  When we start the therapy, Edith and I will know more people, and certainly I know as acquaintances loads of kids and mothers  from Lois’s.  We are happy here, apart from the weekends when we can’t make up our minds what to do.  Roll on when we can get up into the mountains! I thought of moving back recently, how would we do it?  The plan I came up with would be to find a service job through the Lady magazine, they are always seeking couples of our age, and rent here here out so we can come back.   But then I thought, I dont want to, here is where I live.

*Monty was the horse I had on loan in England for about three years, but felt he was too old to try and bring over.  He died from cancer about three months after we arrived so I was right.  He’d had a ling problem with colic and I had suspected a problem.

Leave a Reply

